DOODLEWASH REVIEW: Daniel Smith Extra Fine Watercolors, Part I

Daniel Smith Extra Fine and Primatek watercolor Essential Sets with w Rosemary & Co Kolinsky sable series 323

Daniel Smith Extra Fine Watercolors.  Extra fine- truer words have never been said.  I’m not sure this brand needs much of an introduction. These are artist quality paints. I’ve spent more time looking at Daniel Smith (DS) watercolor swatches than all other art supplies rolled into one.  Their line is so extensive, I wasn’t sure how to begin to tackle this post.  I’ve decided to break it into two posts.  Part one, the Extra Fine line, and part two, the PrimaTek and Luminescent lines.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine Watercolor tubes with a painted mandala stone by Elspeth Mclean

Center Stone by Elspeth McLean

Mr. Daniel Smith started the company in the basement of his Seattle, Washington home in 1976. The company is based out of Seattle, they also have a store in Bellevue, WA.

If I counted correctly- there are 247 watercolors in their line.  This number includes their Extra Fine, PrimaTek, and Luminescent varieties.  They all come in 15ml. tubes , 88 colors come in 5 ml. tubes, and 51 colors come in sticks.  Very few sets are sold, but there are a handful of starter sets and you can see them here.  I found this Daniel Smith Extra Fine Essentials Introductory Set of 6 on Amazon for about $28.  The Daniel Smith site has a $4.95 flat shipping rate, so does Dick Blick and Jerry’s Artarama.  Many local art stores sell this brand and these sets.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine and Primatek watercolor Essential Sets with w Rosemary & Co Kolinsky sable series 323

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors half and full pans in a bamboo palette with paint swatches and a Rosemary & Co sword brush, kolinsky brush and sable blend brushThere are so many colors, that the line seems rather overwhelming.  I decided to swatch the Extra Fine line that I have and highlight a few favorites. I took a lot of photos. I find their website a bit cumbersome to navigate, it could use an update. This is the key for lightfast ratings. Individual colors would need to be looked at to see where they fit on the lightfast scale.  That info is available on their website under the “Product Description” for individual paints or consult the DS Watercolor Chart here. The bamboo palette box pictured came from Dick Blick. Not the best thing, for mixing and it’s a little deep, but it’s what I’ve got. This small swatch is on Arches cold press watercolor paper. Please excuse the stray bits of sand in some of the pans.  I took them to Kauai in a GraceArt converted pallet.  When I wasn’t looking, some of the wild island chickens pecked and ran off with some of my paint pans.  I tracked down all but one pan.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors half and full pans in a bamboo palette with paint swatches and a Rosemary & Co sword brush

Guest Doodlewasher Jane Blundell has a lightfast test here.  The DS site features Jane’s Ultimate Watercolor Mixing Selection.

These swatches are on Strathmore 400 Series Watercolor paper.  There are better papers out there to paint paintings on, but I use it for swatches.  What seems to be a standard for me- my palette is not in the most correct order.  After Indigo, there are three additional colors on the swatch below that are not on the one above.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolor paint swatches on Strathmore watercolor paper

Hansa Yellow Light, New Gamboge, Quinacridone Gold, Pyrrol Scarlet, Quinacridone Rose, Quinacridone Red, Indian Red. Naphthamide Maroon, Phthalo Yellow Green, Undersea Green, Phthalo Blue, French Ultramarine, Phthalo Turquoise, Lunar Blue, Moonglow, Goethite, Payne’s Gray, Buff Titanium, Burnt Sienna, Indigo, Lunar Violet, Shadow Violet, Cascade Green

DOT CARDS!

Dot Cards are 238 dots of paint- these are like a gateway drug to these paints.  It’s amazing how much paint you can get off of a little dot.  Some art stores give out smaller versions of the cards.  My local art store gave me a small Dot Card of some of the PrimaTek line, after that, it was all over.  I went PrimaTek crazy.  Real ground minerals in paints?!  I was hooked. Eventually I got the entire four page Dot Card set.

Daniel Smith watercolor Dot Cards

If you are truly interested in this brand, get the Dot Cards– usually around $25 for the entire set.

Amazon has the 238 set for $22 and the 66 set for around $8.

Wet Paint has a 66 color try it sheet for $4.49 at the writing of this post. A good deal if you are planning on ordering some other things.

The MerriArtist– free smaller Dot Card with $15 DS purchase.

I always think- that’s it, I’m done- no more tubes of paint. Insert Jaws theme music.  Then just when I think it’s safe to let my guard down and go back into the water- paint shark!  I find one I must have.  Recently that was Cascade Green (PBr7 PB15 these are the pigment numbers that the paint is mixed from).  This is when the Dot Cards come in handy.  Looking at swatches on the screen is fine and all, but it’s just not the same as trying the paint out.  I find the dot of paint is enough to try the color in small paintings or sketches, along with doing a swatch.

The following larger swatches are done in a Stillman & Birn 4 x 6 Gamma Series journal. The paper is ivory.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors paint swatches of Cascade Green in a stillman and birn gama series journal with a Princeton Neptune size 4 quill brush

Cascade Green

Most of the traditional colors in the DS Extra Fine line are single pigment, but they have quite a few fun mixes that usually have a separation and granulating effect.  I think some of the celestial names got me- Moonglow, Lunar Blue, Lunar Violet.  Who can resist a name like the mysterious Undersea Green?  I can’t.  Many of the multi-pigment paints can be mixed for from individual pigments.

Daniel Smith watercolor painting of a mermaid embroidery pattern by Aimee Ray

Pattern Drawing by Aimee Ray

Undersea Green– (PB29 PO49) this is my favorite paint. The lower half of the outside mermaids is Undersea Green.

“An artisan’s favorite, this exciting medium staining green blends French Ultramarine with Quinacridone Gold. The inorganic, sedimentary French Ultramarine settles and granulates while the organic, transparent Quinacridone Gold floats into a golden halo.”

Moonglow– (PG18 PB29 PR177 ) beautiful use of this paint, in a more traditional and an abstract painting here.

“Water frees this amazing three-pigment blend to perform miracles. Watch and wait as Anthraquinoid Red floats, Ultramarine Blue settles and Viridian grays the resulting violet color. Selectively blot and lift a surface wash to expose delicate blue-greens. A description of the fascinating light and dark washes can never match a personal experience!”

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors paint swatches of Moonglow and Undersea Green in a stillman and birn gama series journal

Undersea Green and Moonglow

Shadow Violet– (PO73 PB29 PG18), Shadow Violet is only one pigment different than Moonglow and looks very similar. Lunar Violet– (PV15 PBk11), Lunar Blue– (PBk11 PB15).

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors paint swatches of Shadow Violet, Lunar Violet and Lunar Blue in a stillman and birn gama series journal

Shadow Violet, Lunar Violet and Lunar Blue

Quinacridone Gold– (PO49) the pigment is exclusive to DS. Burnt Sienna– (PBr7) I’ve tried a few brands, this is the only brand that to me, looks the most natural (see comparisons below).

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolors paint swatches of Quinacridone Gold and Burnt Sienna in a stillman and birn gama series journal

Quinacridone Gold and Burnt Sienna

I did another swatch comparing a few colors with other brands- Quinacridone Gold, Burnt Sienna, Pyrrol Scarlet, Indigo. These are the artist grade for all brands shown.

Indigo– (PB60 PBk6) neither of the other two brands are as deep and rich as the DS. Pyrrol Scarlet– (PR255) is also particularly nice in this brand.

Top Row: The first three are Quinacridone Gold- Daniel Smith, M Graham, QoR.  The next four in the top for are Burn Sienna- Holbein, Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton, Mission Gold.

Bottom Row: first two are Pyrrol Scarlet- Daniel Smith, M. Graham, and I used Vermilion from Mission Gold.  The next three are Indigo- Daniel Smith, Mission Gold, MaimeriBlu.

Daniel Smith watercolors comparison swatch of Quinacridone Gold, Burnt Sienna, Pyrrol Scarlet, Indigo with M. Graham, QoR, Holbein, Winsor and Newton, Mission Gold and MaimeriBlu professional grad watercolor brands on Strathmore 400 series watercolor paper

Quinacridone Gold, Burnt Sienna, Pyrrol Scarlet, Indigo

If filling pans gets a little messy, I wipe the excess paint on a journal page and do these strange swatches, adding a paint name note on the opposite page- Goethite, Indian Red, Napthamide Maroon, Shadow Violet, Payne’s Gray.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolor swatches, Goethite, Indian Red, Napthamide Maroon, Shadow Violet, Payne's Gray

Goethite, Indian Red, Napthamide Maroon, Shadow Violet, Payne’s Gray

I found this Secondary Set of three on Amazon featuring Quinacridone Burnt Orange, Undersea Green, and Carbazole Violet.  When I first found it, it was $27, the next time I clicked to write this, it went up to $36.  The ways of Amazon.

There is a Primary set of three on Amazon with Perylene Red, Hansa Yellow Medium, and French Ultramarine for $36.  This made me think of an article I recently read: John Muir Laws- Reinventing the Wheel: Why Red is Not a Primary Color.  I recommend reading this before buying a primary set.  It’s not too long, a quick read.

This is a popular paint among guest Doodlewashers, check out Carol Hartman, Larry Marshall, and Cathe Jacobi.

Example below- Undersea Green, Naphthamide Maroon, and Buff Titanium.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine watercolor painting using Undersea Green, Naphthamide Maroon, and Buff Titaniuml, paint tubes and Rosemary & Co brushes

Undersea Green, Naphthamide Maroon, and Buff Titanium

One artist I seriously enjoy is Emil Nolde.  This is me tipping my hat to him using- Lunar Blue, Hansa Yellow Light, Phthalo Blue, French Ultramarine, and Moonglow.

Daniel Smith Extra Fine Watercolor Lunar Blue, Hansa Yellow Light, Phthalo Blue, French Ultramarine, Moonglow and a rosemary & co kolinsky sable series 323 brush

Lunar Blue, Hansa Yellow Light, Phthalo Blue, French Ultramarine, Moonglow

Example below is in a Handbook Travelogue Watercolor Journal, Grand Portrait size- using Moonglow, Undersea Green, Cascade Green, and Payne’s Gray.  The sky is DS Payne’s Gray and two Holbein colors- Cobalt Violet Light and Manganese Blue Nova.  If it looks familiar, this is the same subject I used in the Greenleaf & Blueberry post. Sometimes comparisons are nice.

Desert Painting of the Tucson Mountains in a Handbook Travelogue Watercolor Journal in Grand Portrait size- using Moonglow, Undersea Green, Cascade Green, and Payne's Gray. The sky is DS Payne's Gray and two Holbein colors- Cobalt Violet Light and Manganese Blue Nova.

Tucson Mountains

One thing missing from this post is pronunciation help! Anthraquinoid, Phthalo, Quinacridone, Indanthrone, Naphthamide. I’m glad I’m writing these to you, and not pronouncing them.  I attempted to put some links to pronunciations, in case you are at the art store and wanting to ask questions.  But, those all pronounce them differently, or they added a weird statement at the end. Po-tay-to, po-tah-to.

Dot Card swatches video- I did not watch this entire thing, but I’m passing it along.  It is an hour of one dot card worth of swatches.  She has three other videos for the other Dot Card sheets.

There is an insanely wonderful amount of information available on Handprint.com about this brand and many others, as well as tons of other info on color theory and palettes. Some people like a lot of info like this, some people find it overwhelming.  I link to this a lot, and will continue to do so.  The info on DS is a dated- 2005, but this guy is thorough.

I also link the Guest Doodlewasher Jane Blundell’s blog a lot because she has a comprehensive amount of swatches and info on many brands.  This is a link to all her Daniel Smith posts.

I’ll make a general statement about most of the brushes in the photos- they are from Rosemary & Co., a mother and daughter operated company in the UK.  I have always had a good experience ordering from them, and using the brushes.  I will be doing posts on brushes and sketch/watercolor journals in the next few weeks.

Look for Part Two of Daniel Smith Watercolors next Saturday.  This post is kind of long, I’m hoping that the next one will be shorter.  This is an ongoing series of watercolor and art supply reviews.  Your comments are appreciated.

Hi I'm the Doodlewash Supply Blogger and offer reviews of various types of art supplies, watercolors, and helpful tips. I approach artistic expression with a light-hearted point of view. I love to see, and support others opening up to, and embracing their creative process with any medium or creative expression. Follow me on Instagram!
Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Art Supply ReviewsTags:
91 Comments
  1. Moon in Capricorn 1 year ago

    Thanks for all the helpful information. You’ve put a lot of time into this, and I appreciate it greatly.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      You are totally welcome! I’m glad you find the info helpful :). Thank you for the feedback!

  2. Oh these are lush, I have a number of DS paints in my shopping basket, now added a number more, saving to purchase for myself on my birthday, nothing like a gift to yourself. Thanks for the intro to a few new colours which I had not fully appreciated, they will be mine soon I hope 😀😀😀😀😀

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Yay birthday paints! I had resisted that Cascade Green for a long time, forgot about it, then I rediscover it. I hope you fully enjoy what you get 🙂 so fun! :). And Happy Birthday to you Rebecca 🎂

      • Lol, that one was already in my basket, but I did add one of the shadows, and another green….seawater? All are irresistible.

  3. Teresa Robeson 1 year ago

    Jessica, reading your posts has become the favorite part of my Saturdays! I’m sorry I missed last week’s; I was traveling and haven’t had time to catch up on any missed blogs yet.

    The Dot Cards are such an amazing way to try paints! I’m going to order one and test DS myself. 😊

    So, sad to say, I brought a nifty travel kit after reading your blog posts and I never got to use it. 😕 I was either doing hikes/walks with my family or busy at the writing workshop I attended. I will have to make time to wander around our property and do landscapes at home instead.

    Oh, I haven’t checked to see if the feature is up yet but I was thinking that maybe Charlie could have a tab that collects all your posts or titles with links to your posts in one place so we won’t have to do a search for them?

    Thanks bunches yet again for another awesome review!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Hi Teresa, sounds like you had a lovely trip. One of my favorite things about watercolors is that they keep, and patiently wait for your use :).

      There is a menu item where just these supply posts can be accessed it’s under the “Reviews” tab. After that, you may have to search for the one your looking for. I will do a better job of making sure that I put a tag in for whatever product or items I’m reviewing each Saturday. Some things I’m still figuring out as I go.

      Teresa, I truly appreciate your comment and appreciate connecting with you!

      • Teresa Robeson 1 year ago

        Oh, awesome! Thanks for letting me know where to find your previous posts, Jessica!

        And, yeah, watercolors are great that way! I have some tubes of WN paint from back in 1987 that I’m still using. 😄

  4. memadtwo 1 year ago

    Reblogged this on method two madness and commented:
    Reblogging because this is so well thought out and researched–for all my fellow watercolorists. Thanks as usual to our dear Charlie.

    • Aww thanks Kerfe! Jessica’s reviews are an amazing gift!! So thrilled she’s part of Doodlewash!! 😃

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you for your comments and reblogging! I also appreciate the feedback, sometimes I worry that they get too long. I told Charlie that I’m not the chatty type in person, but I certainly blab on in these posts. Hehehe 😉 Happy painting to you!

  5. Well done and beautiful review of some terrific colors! Inspirational! Thank you!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you Laura! I’m glad you found it inspirational!

      • Hey thanks for your time and effort. Those colors are sensational and it really helps me to see the different brands in columns. Beautiful work and photography too! And love your painting as well!

      • Author
        Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

        Thanks Laura! It’s interesting how different the brands look. I have a lucky north facing window to get the shots from. I try to take them all at the same time of day 😀

  6. I paint exclusively with Daniel Smith watercolors and you several of my favorite colors were listed. Lunar blue, Shadow Violet are amazing in mixes. They are expensive but I ignore that fact, I have to, I do buy the larger sizes 15 ml and that helps. Good post!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you Margret! I say it’s a small price to pay for creative sanity. Hear, hear!

      • Yes exactly! If compared to other brands I am sure it is not outrageously priced. I haven’t looked and I don’t plan to! I will paint for Daniel Smith watercolors! My daughter recently gifted me 4 tubes of 15ml for saying thank you for a painting. Can’t beat that!

      • Author
        Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

        Ooo nice, I love that!

      • Author
        Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

        And Margaret, your paintings are beautiful! 😍

      • Thank you Jessica!

  7. Cathe 1 year ago

    Thank you for such an informative post Jessica! I am such a fan of Daniel Smith watercolors and live near Wet Paint…now you know where my mad money goes! I love the colors you featured! You do such a great job informing us of wonderful products, your efforts are greatly appreciated. Now I’ll look forward to part 2!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you Cathe, I appreciate your comment! We spend our mad money the same way! Happy painting!

  8. I’ve actually yet to try DS watercolor, but feel like I must now! Excellent review Jessica!! So well done!! We’re all anxious for Part II!! 😃

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thanks Charlie! I hope that you try some! If I didn’t already have Undersea Green, I would have snagged that secondary set. 😉

  9. YesterdayAfter 1 year ago

    Always great reviews Jessica thank you! I have tried Daniel Smith and I like it there are beautiful colors in their palette! I also like that you posted the Primatek and the Essential sets I love the colors in the Primatek both sets complete each other and is pretty much what is needed to get some good variety of paintings. Your great paintings are a beautiful illustration for this review! <3 Have a wonderful weekend! 😉

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you Carolina! Both those sets are great! I’d like to start using my PrimaTek more. I’m visiting my parents and kind of wish I would have brought them with me. I hope your weekend is a good one 😍😀🎨

      • YesterdayAfter 1 year ago

        I love the PrimaTek more too because the colors are more the palette that I like to use nice that we like the same 😉 Have a great day visiting your parents and yes I learned to carry my sketchbook also if I go in places where I don’t plan to use it…because you never know…lol creativity and inspiration can strike anytime and anywhere 😉 <3

  10. Teri C 1 year ago

    Wow, this was a huge subject to tackle…kudos to you. And you did an awesome job!
    I love DS but am integrating a few Graham (thanks to Charlie) Now I need to go for Dots. Sounds like fun trying all those colors.
    Thank you so much jessica for all the work you do on these reviews. A labor of love!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      It is a labor of love Teri! That is an excellent description, thank you 😍. I know you would have so much fun with those dots with all of the sketching that you do (and haiku).

      Teri’s bright paintings
      Flowers, scenery, beards, bees
      Daniel Smith paint
      😉🎨🖌

      • Teri C 1 year ago

        I just ordered them
        And I’ll be dotting away
        Love your haiku too
        😄

      • Author
        Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

        Hehehe❣❣❣🎨🖌✒️😍

  11. TerryKrysak 1 year ago

    Superb review of Daniel Smith Watercolors. Had I not updated my entire palette with Winsor & Newton colors, would have bought DS watercolors instead. However I did buy DS Quin. Burnt Orange, and Neutral Tint because my local art store did not have WN for those two colors. I also got a free swatch from my local art store of the Alvaro Castagnet palette and did my own swatches from that.
    DS are excellent quality, the tubes are bigger than WN, and often for a lower price…..you must try them.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Hi Terry and thanks for your comment😀. That’s fun that you got the swatch. It’s nice to be able to try different brands. I have a few favorites in W&N too, after I tried dot cards of a couple of their limited edition palettes. By the time tubes arrive, I had worn those dot cards out, getting every bit of paint off that I could for a few of the colors. Happy painting to you!

  12. Ellie 1 year ago

    I laughed out loud at the paint shark! Great review – I am just venturing into professional grade watercolors (doing Jane Blundell’s excellent Mastering Watercolors course) and I love Daniel Smith. Now I want to fill my whole palette with them.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Ha! But it’s so true Ellie, sometimes that’s what it seems like…the paint shark lurking in deeper wasters just waiting to surface and start circling the artist with its glorious color temptations 😀. I live in paint shark infested waters, oye 😳. How wonderful that you are taking Jane’s class! Hmm…I might have to check that class out. Wishing you happy painting and the fun of choosing all of your palette paints!

  13. artandmoondreams 1 year ago

    Great review, as always I love your color swatches and how you weave the use of the featured paint with painting examples and even adventures with feral chickens. It was fun seeing DS featured, a corner stone of my palette for years. I remember when Moonglow came out, I swooned, like a school girl crushing on a pop star…but with Quinacridone Gold the heavens parted and I heard the voice of angels. Thanks also for your informative links, the are always helpful. Reading this feature makes me think it might be time to swim with the DS paint sharks again. Peace.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Ahaha Haunani, I loved reading your colorful comment! Happy swimming 😃❣🎨🐬

  14. Jodi 1 year ago

    Wow. Such wonderful information! Thank you for taking the time to do this.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you Jodi. You are welcome. Thanks for your comment 😀

  15. Sharon Bonin-Pratt 1 year ago

    You immerse yourself in the experience of experimenting. Thank you for this extensive and helpful review.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Immerse, I like that description. I sometimes refer to it as obsessive, but I think I just adopted your description- immersion 🌊🌊🌊. Life and art, we are made to fully immerse ourselves in them 💜, everything is one big experiment! Thank you for your sage words Sharon!

  16. Views On News 1 year ago

    keep it up!good piece of information 🙂

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you!

  17. nkvorka 1 year ago

    I am with you Jessica, just when I decide I have enough DS paint, or watercolor paint in general I find more I want. Thanks for the information. I have enjoyed all your supply posts and look forward to the ones to come. Primatek paint is wonderful too.

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Thank you! It’s nice to be among understanding paint friends 🙂

  18. ybromfield 1 year ago

    I do love my DS! I got the primary set and I thought it was the perfect first set as it comes with warm and cool version of the primaries. I have added a few more to my collection but I find myself going back to my primaries. But I think I have to get Moonglow as I love that smokey look! Can’t wait to read your review on brushes!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      I use Moonglow more than I thought I would. I hope you enjoy it too! 🙂 Happy painting to you.

  19. lorigreer 1 year ago

    I am not a painter…more of a dabbler but I love playing with colors. This was a very informative and helpful post! Thank you for all of the thought that you put into this post!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Hi Lori, and thank you for the comment! I’m glad the post was helpful to you. I’m with you on playing with colors! 🎨💜💚

  20. Carol 1 year ago

    Hi Jessica. Once again I am playing catch up on my blog reading, and this review is amazing! I can’t wait for part 2. I have the two sets you pictured and this weekend picked up a quinacridone gold and burnt sienna. I also have the smaller dot chart and use it very sparingly. Oh, the colors, minerals, granulation, and sparkle! They truly are exceptional, and I dare any chicken to try to run away with a pan of these beauties – lol! Thanks for the link to my doodlewash, too. That was very kind of you. Have a terrific week!

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 1 year ago

      Hi Carol! Oh the sparkle is right! I love that part the best :). Hehehe, I’m getting a funny visual of you running after the chickens. At first I wasn’t sure what had happened, until I saw the peck marks! I hope your seek is great!

  21. […] Daniel Smith– 5ml tube intro set of six– $25 […]

  22. […] favorite brands of watercolor are Mijello Mission Gold, Winsor and Newton, Daniel Smith and Sennelier. I used only Prang singles for the longest time until I ventured out and bought […]

  23. […] yellows. They don’t have interesting color mixes and the numerous granulating paints like Daniel Smith. If I had to pick between brands, I would go with one of the less expensive, but equal in quality […]

  24. […] above, I told myself- Jes…yes!  There are reviews on the Daniel Smith lines here on Doodlewash- Part I and Part II. Kind of odd to feature only one color, but it’s not one I’ve seen in use […]

  25. […] a short version as I am only 5’ 3”. I squeeze tubes of my favorite watercolor pigments (Daniel Smith, Holbein, and Winsor & Newton) into a Heritage Folding […]

  26. […] also experimenting with different paints. I tried Daniel Smith and I’m instantly hooked! Its effect on paper is flawless. M. Graham is another brand that I […]

  27. […] Smith Part I & Part […]

  28. […] and I just recently got a Sailor with a fude nib! To add color I have been using Schmincke and Daniel Smith watercolors interchangeably. They both are amazing brands with fantastic paint colors.  To apply […]

  29. […] will sometimes use Sharpie Fine pens or Pigma Microns (Learn more about my pens here). I paint with Daniel Smith watercolors, and typically use 14 paints in my […]

  30. […] pigment. I’ve put a serious dent in my Quinacridone Rose, I love that color. I also adore Daniel Smith paints, they have their own attitude, especially the granulating ones, it gives paintings a certain […]

  31. […] use Winsor & Newton tubes to paint, but I intend to buy some Daniel Smith tubes as I have just read an article about them having 13 Quinacridone colours which are […]

  32. […] pressed paper. I love handmade Da Vinci brushes. They are expensive but they are worth it. I use Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton and Schmincke paints. I keep all my paint in a fishing tackle box because I […]

  33. […] but that means different things to different people. These are not the same quality as Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton, Holbein, and the like. But hey, I’ve seen awesome things […]

  34. […] favorite paints are a mix of M. Graham, Daniel Smith, and QoR watercolors. I use many other brands as well. I’m a bit of a palette/paint addict, so I […]

  35. […] prefer Winsor & Newton and Daniel Smith water color brands for my works.  For oil pastel and acrylic I use any brands commercially […]

  36. […] But when it comes to materials, I will use all sorts including Langton sketchbooks and Sennelier concertina books, a current favourite as they look lovely when they’re done and opened out. My paints include Winsor & Newton, QoR, Lukas, Russian White Nights, and Daniel Smith. […]

  37. […] various brands of paint, paper, and brushes. But my favorite paint brands are Schmincke Horadam and Daniel Smith. For brushes, I use Princeton Neptune, Escoda Reserva (especially when using 100% cotton paper), […]

  38. […] Lamy Safari and De Atramentis document ink. For watercolour paints, I use a variety – Schmincke, Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton, Holbein, but my favourite is Schmincke because the paint dissolves like […]

  39. […] several sketchbooks (using Jessica Seacrest’s reviews to choose) and plenty of backup tubes of Daniel Smith and Winsor & Newton watercolors so that I can indulge my passion for color. I’ll be sure to […]

  40. […] juicy Sennelier paints, and supplemented with tubes of Winsor & Newton‘s pro range and Daniel Smith’s gorgeous granulating Primateks, which add beautiful textures to a wash. I sketch using […]

  41. […] use primarily Daniel Smith watercolors as I find their interactions on paper to be the most mesmerizing and luminescent. That […]

  42. […] paint with Daniel Smith pigments, Winsor & Newton, and Blick watercolors. Always starting with fresh paint, this way […]

  43. […] on from the Koi paints. I prefer to fill my own pans with an assortment of Winsor & Newton, Daniel Smith, Holbein, and Da Vinci paints. For about a year, I was using the wonderful Pocket Palette from […]

  44. […] setups are Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook, Rosemary 1/4” travel dagger brush, and a mix of Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton and Holbein watercolors. I use a Uniball Signo gel pen with brown black ink […]

  45. […] setups are Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook, Rosemary 1/4” travel dagger brush, and a mix of Daniel Smith, Winsor & Newton and Holbein watercolors. I use a Uniball Signo gel pen with brown black ink […]

  46. […] really enjoy combining watercolour and ink pens in unusual ways. My favourite tools are Daniel Smith and Winsor & Newton watercolour paints, Derwent Inktense pencils, Faber Castell watercolour […]

  47. […] which reviews their PrimaTek and the Luminescent lines.  See Part I on the Extra Fine line here– that post is where the bulk of the information on the DS lines, tube sizes and different […]

  48. […] are handy for symmetry. This is the journal that I did all those strange swatches in for the Daniel Smith and M. Graham posts. After I filled up the larger 9”x 9,” I switched to the Canson XL because I […]

  49. Sabel 6 months ago

    Great reviews!!! 🙂

    I can’t decide between “White Nights 36 pan set” and “Daniel Smith essentials + primatek sets”.

    …help* 😀

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 6 months ago

      Hi Sabel, what an excellent dilemma! If I had to pick, I would buy the DS sets. I’m coming from a personal bias of course, because I’m very found of DS, and the Primatek are an experience all their own. The White Nights are an excellent set, and a lot of colors. Plus full pans, an excellent deal! With the DS you can mix for colors and some people really enjoy that. One factor- with the DS you you’ll need pans to fill and/or a palette, so that’s an added expense. But, you may already have palette. I don’t think you can go wrong with either choice. Eeny meeny miny moe..hehe. I’m not sure this helped at all! I’m curious to see what you end up with!

      • Sabel 6 months ago

        Thank You!!! I really appreciate your help 🙂

        And the winners are DS sets.. also includes a 238 color dot card (which i think is good) lol

        sorry for my english, and again THANKS!!!

      • Author
        Jessica Seacrest 6 months ago

        That’s great that a Dot Card is included!! Those little dots can go a long way if you are just doing small sketches 🙂

  50. […] 9.  I LOVE those brushes.  My paints are Holbein Artists Watercolors, a set of 12.  Owning some Daniel Smith paints is a dream that one day may come true.  When we are on the boat I have a travel set of Koi […]

  51. Watercolorsfromholland 5 months ago

    I bought my first tube two years ago, Smalt blue Genuine color, I could not paint with it, it powdered after drying from the paper. After a complain to my distributor I received a new tube, same problem. I complained by DS I received 2 tubes Smalt with the difference I still could not paint with it, but it dried on the watercolor paper. So now I did have 4 tubes Smalt for the price of one! So I decided to buy a Payne’s grey to make sure only he Smalt was bad luck. After drying the Paynes grey granulated so heavy and separated from the mix with raw sienna decided to stick with my normal brand. I did spend 24 euro and I didn’t want to test more DS pigments. I see friends painting really good watercolors with the paints of DS.
    I paint with all sorts of brands, once I did have a nap of Prussian from W&N that didnt do what it supposed too!
    After reading your review, I must confess I want to tryout some more from DS. But something strikes me….

    Thanks best regards Edo

    • Author
      Jessica Seacrest 5 months ago

      Thanks for your comment Edo. Sometimes certain things just work better for us than others don’t they? No matter what anyone else says 🙂 Happy Painting.

      • Watercolorsfromholland 5 months ago

        Well it is something that bothers me, it must be good, cause a lot of artist use this. I ca imagine that 270+ colors is a bit overwhelming for a lot of us! happy painting Jessica!

  52. […] Or use those pastel colors that contain the white pigment in the mix, which professional brands Daniel Smith and Holbein both carry.   Aren’t we told to never mix white in with other colors?  […]

  53. […] this Sunflower watercolour painting, I used very basic colors from Daniel Smith professional watercolours. I used the Primatek set and the Basic Set colors where my greens have […]

Leave Me A Comment!

CONTACT US

Want to say hi and connect? Do you make lovely things with watercolor and want to be featured in the next Guest Artist post?! Great! Not sure, just feel the need to say something? Awesome! Just fill out the form below!

Sending

©2015-2017 Doodlewash® | Privacy & Cookie Policy | Disclosure

 
X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -
or

Log in with your credentials

or    

Forgot your details?

or

Create Account

%d bloggers like this: